Southwick Hall

Southwick Hall

Southwick Hall comprises architecture of many centuries, notably the 14th, 16th, 18th and 19th. Although altered many times, the house still retains much of its original medieval layout.

Southwick Hall has been the home of three inter-related families. The Knyvetts, (or Knyvets) 1300-1441 who built the medieval manor house which was then known as Knyvett's Place. The Lynns (or Lynnes) 1441-1840 later rebuilt, on the foundations of the medieval Great Hall, that part of the house which now forms the main south front.

The Caprons have lived here since then until the present day. In 1870 they rebuilt the east wing, making it into two storeys. They also built the stables block. In 1909 a more impressive entrance to the house was made through the undercroft or crypt

Located 3 miles north of Oundle, 4 miles east of Bulwick.

01832 274064

Main St
Southwick
Peterborough
PE8 5BL

Keywave Media Solutions - Website design and development